Score…

If you plan on homeschooling, you may be a little concerned about the cost.  It can be very, very pricey, but a lot of people do it for little money.  I’ve been trying to stock my house with as much educational stuff as possible.  I mentioned in a previous post that I LOVE the Dollar Tree.  Some of this stuff, like books, seems pointless to some people because you can get them from the library and never spend a dime.  I think a little differently.  I think very easy access to basic reference books is important.  We can’t just run to the library all the time because of gas prices and needing someone to watch Charlie.  It really bothered me when he got very interested in anatomy and I couldn’t answer his questions right then.  Of course, it would be helpful to get the internet at home.  I’ll work on that. 😉

After getting a lot of cool things at the Dollar Tree, I asked my mom if she had anything.  She has a basement chock full of all kinds of treasures.  We ened up with:

A human anatomy model, from the 1950’s, new in the box. Unpainted.

A solar system model.

A magnet science kit and also magnets you can build with.

A book with science project ideas and some supplies too.

A book on the solar system with lots of pictures and great for a 4 year old.

Scrabble tiles.

Poker chips.

Window paint.

Sand art.

A book about rain and rainbows.

A travel journal.

A marble board game.

A toy that reflects an object and makes it appear above it in 3D.

A wooden kazoo.

Awesome score right?

I hit the school supply sales this week and stocked up on glue, crayons, paper, notebooks, and folders.  I probably bought enough for 3 years and only spent about $10.

I found things around the house to add to his art supplies.  He’s learning that we should always try to re-purpose something before throwing it away.  How do you convince a 4 year old that we shouldn’t put a corn dog stick in the art bag because it smells like stinky meat?  “But I like how corn dogs smell mommy!”  Uh, no, it still needs to be thrown away.  Ick!

And I went back to the Dollar Tree.  And the Target dollar bin.  I spent maybe $15 and got tons of very useful stuff.  I’m super excited about the dry-erase writing board.  It’s lined like little kid paper and you can doodle on the blank side too.  And we got 5 books from the Dollar tree that are simple yet educational.  They were basic books on science, history, animals, ect.  Lots of picture and fun facts.  Easy to just pick up and read one page at a time.  We got a dictionary (can you believe I didn’t already have one?) and a spanish-english dictionary.  Both for a buck.  I know they aren’t the most comprehensive, but they’ll do for a 4 year old.

Then my mom found MORE stuff.  Now that she knows the type of stuff I’m looking for, I’m sure she’ll be keeping an eye out.  She likes thrift stores and goodwill and if she can afford it, she’ll do anything for both of these kids.  So I’m looking forward to her finds.  I just never have good luck like she does.

So you’d think this would get overwhelming right?  Too much stuff?  Actually, it’s not bad at all.  I’ve separated his educational stuff from his other toys.  I organized everything and put it in the front room, next to the entertainment center.  The cabinet in the entertainment center hold the science kits and book.  As long as I remind him to clean up after himself, it stays pretty organized.  I think I’m just about done buying stuff for now.  He has enough stuff to last him at least a year and never get bored.  His art supplies are overflowing and very diverse.  He has books galore.  His educational “toys” are all very open-ended and serve many purposes.  Dice can be used many different ways.  We can always print out new tangram games.  The food pit is always fun and exciting when we get it out.

I think total I’ve spent maybe $50.   Here’s hoping for a wonderful “school” year! 😀

Maybe as he outgrows some of this stuff we can swap it with other homeschoolers to save money.

One Response to “Score…”

  1. Sherrie Says:

    Check out craigslist too for homeschool books. I’ve been seeing a ton on there this year looking for my text books!

Leave a Reply

